Validation of digital skills

Validation of digital skills

By Gabriela Ruseva

There are hundreds of thousands of ICT centres, libraries and NGOs where people can learn digital skills. But are the skills acquired through these trainings formally recognised? Do they count for employers and universities and how do people prove them? With a university diploma, we can prove our skills. But what happens when we learn at a non-formal training centre or through volunteering?

These were some of the questions discussed at the Policy debate on validation of non-formal education, organized by EUCIS-LLL and the European Youth Forum on 9th July in Brussels.

Validation is a hot topic in the youth field, especially in the context of youth volunteerism and activism and many of the participants were from youth organisations. Telecentre Europe, Fit4Jobs project partner from Belgium participated at the event to raise the question of validation and recognition of digital skills.

Four steps in validation

European Commission representative Koen Nomden (Skills Unit) spoke about EU initiatives, namely the Council Recommendations on validation of non-formal learning outcomes. The Recommendations ask Member States to set national validation frameworks for non-formal learning before 2018. The main objective of validation is to “enable individuals to obtain qualification on the basis of validating their experience”. There are four steps in validation: identification, documentation, assessment and certification.

Testing your digital skills

Digital skills, just like as language skills, are considered horizontal skills. They do not lead to a specific qualification and occupation. Therefore, they are not validated through the European Qualifications Framework (EQF) through the same formal procedure applied for example for a chef who has cooking skills and who can get his skills tested and receive a formal diploma without going to a professional school.

For digital skills and language skills the EU has developed self-assessment tools, that everyone can use to document their skills. There are two reference frameworks for digital skills – the European Digital Competence Framework DIGCOMP (for users) and the e-Competence framework e-CF (for ICT professionals). Telecentre Europe argues that both frameworks can be related to EQF with DIGCOMP validating skills until level 5 and e-CF between levels 6-8.


Conclusions and EC future plans

At the end of the debate the EC representative summarized EC future plans:

  • The Recommendation on the European Qualification Framework (EQF) will be updated soon. Telecentre Europe will follow the process and advocate to link formal validation with the recognition of digital skills and refer DIGCOMP
  • The EU tools for documenting skills will be modernised and a digital skills portfolio will become part of the EUROPASS documents
  • The EU skills agenda, to be developed early 2016, will be linked to migration and the validation of skills of third country nationals.

For more information on the debate, see EUCIS-LLL report.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *